Spicy Kale and Potato Soup

Is there anything better than a nice brothy bowl of soup and a glass of wine on a snowy night? This weeks bag from Liberty Heights SSF contained Russian Red Kale, Celeriac, Purple Turnips, Brussels Spoouts, Cocktail Grapefruits, and Honey. Celeriac and Turnips are not vegetables I use everyday and when faced with those kind of vegetables, I tend to go in one of two directions: roast them or make them into soup. This week is entirely about soup.

Tonight, I used the russian red kale and potatoes from last weeks bag along with shallots from the bag from 2 weeks ago to make Deborah Madison’s Kale and Potato Soup with Red Chili from the Green’s Cookbook (which is a cookbook that I love love love). The red chili just refers to some crushed red chili flakes. I made a couple of small substitutions based on my cupboard. I used the Russian Kale for regular curly kale and shallots instead of onions. I used a vegetable boullion cube instead of boiling the kale stems for broth. The recipe for this soup is so simple that I didn’t have high expectations for it, but it is super tasty and perfect for a night like this one.

This is not a great picture. I was lazy and used my cell phone to take the pic.

Kale and potato soup

Look for more soup this week. I’m planning on a split pea soup with the celeriac and also a vegetable soup with barley which will use some turnips and potatoes. I already ate the brussels spouts. I simply roasted them.

Leave a comment

Filed under Dinner Entrees

Comment

