Everybody’s doin’ it Tofu Scramble

It’s a nice snowy morning here in PC – the kind of snow that floats down like feathers. Here is a pic of the view off of my front porch today (I love the yellow aspens against the snow):

October Snow

It is a perfect morning for a big breakfast. This morning we made hashbrowns from the remaining russet potatoes, Lite Life Vegan sausage patties and a Tofu Scramble. These are definitely not the most photogenic items but they tasted fantastic.

Tofu Scramble

To make the hasbrowns, I used my ricer to squeeze water out of the potatoes after I finely grated them in my food processor. I happened to have minced shallots in the food processor ahead of grating the potatoes and they picked up a nice light shallot flavor. Simply Recipes has a nice instructional on making perfect crispy hashbrowns.

Hashbrowns

For the Tofu Scramble, I kind of sort of followed Vegan Dad’s recipe. But… I sauteed a shallot before adding the tofu to the pan and left out the onion powder. I also added 1/4 tsp cumin to the spices and just added a splash of soy creamer to the pan at the end to wet the spices a little. As you can see from the pic above, I also left mine a lot chunkier.

Here is the modified recipe:

Tofu Scramble

INGREDIENTS
– 1 pkg firm tofu
– 2 tbsp oil
– 1 shallot, minced
– 1 tbsp Dijon mustard
– 1/2 tsp tumeric
– 1/4 tsp cumin
– 1/2 tsp salt
– freshly ground white pepper
– 1 tbsp nutritional yeast
– 1 tbsp soy creamer
METHOD
1. Heat oil in a non-stick frying pan over medium heat. Saute shallots till soft.  Drain water off the tofu and crumble into the pan. Cook for 3-4 mins, until tofu begins releasing its water.
2. Add the rest of the ingredients except the creamer and mix well. Cook for about 10 mins, stirring regularly, lowering the heat if the tofu begins to stick. The idea here is to let the water evaporate and the tofu firm up. You want to keep the heat high enough to facilitate this evaporation.
3. Add creamer and mix well. Allow some of the liquid to evaporate, then remove from heat. Serve.

Here is a pic of the entire breakfast:

Todu Scramble with Hash Browns and Vegan sausage

6 Comments

Filed under Breakfast

6 responses to “Everybody’s doin’ it Tofu Scramble

  1. Now that's a breakfast!!

    *throws snowball*

  2. Wow, the view from your porch is amazing 🙂 So hilly! We look into the parking lot of the university “Harris School for public policy”. Heh.

  3. that looks like a wonderful breakfast! those hashbrowns…omg!

  4. Jennifer

    Looks like a great breakfast. Nice job on the hasbrowns.

    I was thinking about trying out Vegan Dad's scramble because he said it was very kid-friendly and my kid needs kid-friendly food!

    Thanks for the beautiful snow picture. I guess winter isn't all bad!

  5. I cannot comment on whether kids will like it or not since I don't have any and my cats will eat anything. Vegan Dad's version is probably more kid friendly than mine. I would guess that kids don't like shallots or cumin.

Comment

